2013 Francisco R. Walker Teacher of The Year and Rookie Teacher of The Year Awards.

By Dominique Barba.

Superintendent Carvalho address the crowd of over 800 guests with this phrase. The ceremony, held at the Doral Golf Resort and Spa, honored teachers who were nominated for their individual schools, rookie teachers and finalists from the district’s six regions.

Alexandre Lopes, special education teacher in Carol City Elementary School (North Central Region) was chosen from a pool of 25,000 Miami Dade County teachers as the “2013 Teacher of the Year”. A Brazil native, LEAP  (Learning Experience: Alternative Program) teacher, he also has a PHD from FIU.

The runner up “Teacher of the Year 2013” was Ms. Mia La France from Dr. Henry W.Mack/West Little River Rock K-8 (Education Transformation Office)

“The Rookie Teacher of the Year 2013” was Sherif Watson from Santa Clara Elementary School (North Central Region); the runner up was Annette Konoske Graf, teacher at Miami Edison High School (Education Transformation Office).

One of the people most excited was of course the Superintendent of the North Central Region, Dr. Carmen Marinelli, who shared her joy and pride to have such valuable teachers working with her. Ms. Dinah Gonzalez, EBT K-8 Center Teacher of the Year, told us he was very excited about her nomination and support from colleagues and administration. She added, “I am more inspired today to be a better teacher for tomorrow”. Ms. Pricilla Chaca, a language arts teacher was nominated by Doral Middle School. She said: “This event in wonderful, everything that champions teachers and educators is always great.”  Ms. Chaca told us how proud she was to represent the wonderful school that is DMS, a place where everyone deserves a nomination.

It was a great event where those who change our lives every day were honored and deserve our recognition, Thank you teachers!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend